Booty shorts and unrealistic expectations.

I guarantee I’m about to piss some people off.  Truth hurts.

Ladies, you cannot expect to attract a “good man” by wearing booty shorts and bra tops.  What is this with the whole crying and whining trend from women who don’t understand why they can’t dress the way they want to and still get respect?  Are we really that entitled in this country?  If you’re big enough to wear the clothes then you’re big enough to assume all the risks that come with it.  I’ve had my share of questionable fashion choices but I knew exactly what I was in for before I stepped outside my house.  I was ready for it.  And when I got tired of being misunderstood and misrepresented, I changed my clothes.  I know full well that not all women who dress provocatively are sluts, but I can also admit that the clothes make it appear that way.   Nobody is mistaking Kelly Bundy for a missionary.

Uniforms come with an understanding of certain risks and liabilities.  By wearing the uniform you agree that you are willing to take those risks.  Cops risk being shot, firemen risk being burned, doctors risk catching germs- hell, even gangsters know what’s up when you wear one color but not another.  For some reason we women think none of those rules apply to us.  If you are going to wear the uniform, stop bellyaching or change clothes.

So why is it that we tend to think we can be so free as to walk the aisles of Target showing more flesh than a little bit, but still expect to attract a nice guy who wants to get to know us and be really into our hearts and our personalities and not expect sex in exchange for dinner and a movie?  What if your son brought home a girl who dressed just like you?  Would you be happy?  Would you be scared for him?  Would you be angry?  Talking about how you want a man to notice your personality while you got the volume way up on your assets.  Please!  You can’t be serious!

And before anyone jumps on here with comments about how clothing is no excuse for rape, I agree 1,000%.  But this is not about sexual assault as it relates to dress.  It’s about relationships and expectations as they relate to dress. 

If no one else will tell you, I’m telling you.  A man who respects himself and respects women can tell right away if you have no respect for yourself, and he is not attracted to that.  He will definitely look, but to approach- unlikely.  Date- highly unlikely.  Marry- forget it!  He is not trying to take you home to his momma!

The way you dress is a reflection of your self-worth.  If you do not value and treasure your beautiful flesh the way God does, you will put it on display like the clearance rack at Forever 21.  There it is right by the front door for everyone to see as they come in.  But if you really do treasure and hold dear the body that you were given, you cover it and protect it from being trampled by bargain shoppers looking for a deal.  You are worth so much more than what society is telling you.  You are not a walking, talking exercise machine for men with evil desires.  I know it’s hard not to show your body.  I struggle with wanting to wear certain things because I’m still petite after having 5 kids and I get caught up in wanting to feel sexy and attractive.  But when I consider the kind of attention I will receive by wearing a certain outfit, I decide it’s not worth the headache.

You are not missing out on your man by dressing with class and dignity.  You can be incredibly sexy with clothes on.  He will know how to find you.  A good man knows a good woman when he sees one.  Never compromise your values.  Never.

If you’re a proud wearer of booty shorts, keep doing what you do.  All I ask is that you stop crying about the blowback.  You knew the job was dangerous when you took it.

2 thoughts on “Booty shorts and unrealistic expectations.

Leave a Reply

