More Than I Can Bear

 

Image

Picture from oneyearbibleblog.com

Here’s a random thought. 

I love gospel music.  I grew up with it.  I sing it.  I hum it.  It’s on my playlist.  I know it like the back of my hand.  But, you know how you can sing a song for years without really paying attention to the lyrics?  And then one day…  

Well recently I’ve been thinking of a song that says “He’ll never put more on me than I can bear”.  Uh, I hate to break it to y’all but God will give you whatever it takes to bring you to your knees- prayer position.  The point is to get you to drop your heavy load and let God carry it.  His “yoke is easy” and His “burden is light”  The goal is not to cripple us or beat us down to a state of utter despair and bitterness, but to the point where we can’t move without His help.  Isn’t that the point of faith?  When our load is way heavier than what we could ever pick up alone, it’s usually then that we cry out to God. 

No one cries out to God when the rent is a day late.  They cry out when they get that 3-day eviction notice.  God gets all the glory when he comes through for us and more people get to see His glory.  The bigger the miracle, the deeper the grace, the greater the triumph, the more hearts He wins over.

3 thoughts on “More Than I Can Bear

  1. So true!!!!! I used to only just Thank God when things was going good….Now I call on him for everything. Just yesterday one of the doors in the house got jammed & I took a knife to Try to open it…it didnt want to.open for me BUT the minute I called on.Jesus..that door swung open without hesitation. Lol I call on him for EVERYTHING

Leave a Reply

